+

Ella Fitzgerald, vocals

Fitzgerald

Ella Fitzgerald was born on April, 25, 1917, to a single mother – her father's identity is unknown. She grew up in a poor, cosmopolitan neighborhood in the New York suburbs and, at 15, she moved to her aunt's in Harlem after her mother passed away. A dance and music buff, she won an amateur performance competition in 1934 at the Apollo Theater in Harlem, which is how drummer and conductor Chick Webb noticed her, and hired her as a singer in his big band – whose mascot and star she became presently, as they recorded numerous hits such as “Mr Paganini” in 1936 and, in 1938, “A-Tisket A-Tasket” - which remained her signature theme for years.

After Webb died in 1939, the young 22 year-old singer took on the band's lead, and renamed it “Ella and her Famous Orchestra” - however, big bands gradually went out of style and the formation broke up in 1942. She then started numerous collaborations with vocal ensembles and fashionable personalities such as singer and saxophone player Louis Jordan: her brilliant solo career allowed her to dash back to the top of the charts. At the same time, she started singing in Dizzy Gillespie's great be-bop orchestra, and in this modernist context she displayed exceptional improvisational gifts, further transcended by immense technical virtuosity.

In 1946 she started taking part in the Jazz At The Philarmonic Tours; the organizer Norman Granz became her manager. In 1955, largely to promote the universal genius of the singer, Granz founded his label Verve, and Ella started her mythical recordings, soon becoming a genuinely international star. After three records with Louis Armstrong (including a breathtaking version of “Porgy and Bess”), Ella became the legend she is by revisiting in her own style the great American repertoire (Cole Porter, Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart, Duke Ellington, Irving Berlin, George and Ira Gershwin, Harold Arlen, Jerome Kern, and Jonny Mercer). These eight records were brilliantly “staged” by the greatest arrangers of the time and released from 1956 and 1964; the series is called “Songbooks” – undeniably one of the jewels of her discography. She reached a much wider audience than mere jazz lovers, partly thanks to the prestigious prizes and awards she won over time (four Grammys as “Best Female Pop Vocal Performance” between 1959 and 1963!).

In the mid-1960s, the “First Lady of Song” was at the height of her success, in the United States where she regularly appeared on TV shows, thus becoming a household name, and worldwide where her concerts were systematically sold-out. In 1967 the Grammy Academy crowned her with a “Lifetime Achievement Award”, recognizing her lifelong dedication to music.
Even when jazz started losing parts of its audience to rock and pop music, Ella Fitzgerald, who went for a while without a record label, remained enduringly focused on giving quality performances; in the early 1970s she met guitar player Joe Pass – the perfect accomplice for the last – and most soulful – part of her career. She remained very active on stage despite crippling diabetes-related health issues, and in 1987 she received from President Reagan the National Medal of Arts, and officially became a “National Treasure”.

In 1991, she performed for the 26th time at the prestigious New York Carnegie Hall. This was to be her last public appearance. Her diabetes took a turn for the worst, nearly blinding her. In 1993, both her legs had to be amputated. She died in Beverly Hills on June 15, 1996, surrounded by her family.

+

Ella Fitzgerald, voix

Fitzgerald

Née en Virginie de père inconnu le 25 avril 1917 la petite Ella Fitzgerald passe son enfance dans un quartier pauvre et cosmopolite de la banlieue de New York avant de venir à 15 ans s’installer chez sa tante à Harlem, suite à la mort de sa mère. Passionnée de danse et de musique elle remporte en 1934 le premier prix d’un concours de spectacle amateur organisé à l’Apollo Theater de Harlem, ce qui lui vaut d’être remarquée par le batteur et chef d’orchestre Chick Webb qui l’engage comme chanteuse dans son big band. Elle en devient très vite à la fois la vedette et la mascotte, enregistrant en son sein de nombreux succès dont “Mr Paganini” en 1936 et surtout en 1938 “A-Tisket A-Tasket”, qui pendant des années demeurera son thème fétiche.

A la mort de Webb en 1939, la chanteuse, à peine âgée de 22 ans, prend la direction du groupe qu’elle rebaptise Ella and her Famous Orchestra jusqu’à ce que, la mode des big band s’estompant, la formation ne finisse par se dissoudre en 1942. Multipliant dés lors les collaborations avec divers ensembles vocaux et des personnalités à a mode comme le saxophoniste et chanteur Louis Jordan, Ella entame une brillante carrière solo qui lui permet de retrouver la tête des hit parades. Elle commence à la même période de chanter dans le grand orchestre bebop de Dizzy Gillespie, démontrant dans ce contexte moderniste des dons d’improvisatrice exceptionnels transcendés par une immense virtuosité technique et dés 1946 participe aux tournées du Jazz At The Philarmonic (JATP) organisées par Norman Granz qui devient son manager.

En 1955, en grande partie pour assurer la promotion de la chanteuse dont il perçoit le caractère universel du génie, Granz fonde le label Verve, engageant alors Ella dans une série d’enregistrements historiques qui lui assurent bientôt l’aura d’une authentique vedette internationale. Après trois disques en compagnie de Louis Armstrong (dont une somptueuse reprise de “Porgy and Bess”), Ella assoit définitivement sa réputation en entreprenant de revisiter à sa manière le répertoire des grands compositeurs américains (Cole Porter, Richard Rodgers et Lorenz Hart, Duke Ellington, Irving Berlin, George et Ira Gershwin, Harold Arlen, Jerome Kern et, enfin, Jonny Mercer). Ces huit disques magistralement “mis en scène” par les plus grands arrangeurs de l’époque et parus entre 1956 et 1964 constituent la série des “Songbooks” et sont incontestablement l’un des sommets de sa discographie. Célébrée bien au-delà de la sphère des amateurs de jazz, auréolée de récompenses prestigieuses (pas moins de quatre Grammy Awards dans la catégorie “meilleure chanteuse de variété ”entre 1959 et 1963), celle que l’on surnomme désormais la “First Lady of Song” est au milieu des années 60 au firmament de sa popularité, tant aux Etats-Unis où ses innombrables apparitions télévisées en ont fait une figure familière du public américain que partout dans le monde où ses concerts font salle comble. En 1967 l’académie des Grammy lui décerne un « Lifetime Achievement Award » consacrant ainsi une vie entièrement dédiée à la musique.

Même lorsque le jazz commencera par la suite à perdre une partie de son public, séduit par le rock et la pop music, Ella Fitzgerald, privée un temps de maison de disque attitrée, saura garder le cap de la qualité, trouvant finalement au tournant des années 70 en la personne du guitariste Joe Pass l’interlocuteur idéal avec qui entamer la dernière partie, résolument intimiste, de sa carrière. Toujours très active sur scène malgré des problèmes de santé dus au diabète de plus en plus handicapants, Ella Fitzgerald reçoit en 1987 des mains du président Ronald Reagan, la médaille nationale des Arts et est élevée au rang de “Trésor national”.

En 1991 elle donne au Carnegie Hall de New York son vingt-sixième concert dans ce lieu prestigieux. Ce sera sa dernière prestation publique. Son diabète s’aggrave et la rend presque aveugle. En 1993, la maladie atteint un tel stade qu’elle doit être amputée des deux jambes. Elle meurt finalement à Beverly Hills le 15 juin 1996, entourée des siens.